Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Learning Stream on Humanitarian Coordination: Alternative models for humanitarian coordination

9 November @ 10:30 - 12:00

Read more and register at phap.org/9nov2017

Each humanitarian crisis requires a specific response, which could benefit from alternative coordination mechanisms. The increasing critique of relying on a centralized, one-size-fits-all approach, coupled with the increased capacity of many governments to lead coordination efforts has led to the emergence of new coordination models, responding to specific needs through innovative mechanisms.

Needs and responses are different depending on the context. For instance, national governments may have a greater role in the coordination of a disaster relief operation on its own territory, with each government operationalizing different coordination structures. The increased prevalence of humanitarian response in urban contexts also questions the relevance of the current coordination mechanisms.

The sixth online session of PHAP’s and ICVA’s learning stream on humanitarian coordination will explore these additional coordination mechanisms, in which all actors play an important precise role according the specificities of each crisis. Join us on 9 November in the presentation and discussion of such models.

New York:             04:30 – 07:00
London:                 09:30 – 11:00
Geneva:                 10:30 – 12:00
Amman:                11:30 – 13:00
Nairobi:                12:30 – 14:00
Bangkok:              16:30 – 18:00
Manila:                 17:30 – 19:00

Attached File/s

Details

Date:
9 November
Time:
10:30 - 12:00
Event Category:
Website:
http://phap.org/9nov2017

Venue

Online

Other

Language
English